Your are here:Home > About Us

Governing Council

BASE is governed by a Governing Council under the Chairmanship of Prof. U. R. Rao, Former Chairman, Space Commission and ISRO, and presently Chairman, Governing Council, Chancellor, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology. Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad and Chancellor, Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar University, Lucknow.


Prof. U R Rao - Chairman

Chairman, PRL Council and Chancellor, Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar University, Lucknow


Prof. B R Iyer - Member

Chair, IndIGO Consortium Council, International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bengaluru

Dr. P Sreekumar - Member

Director, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bengaluru

Dr. T K Alex - Member

Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor , ISRO, Bengaluru

Prof. Ajit K Kembhavi - Member

Inter-University of Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune

Sri Gaurav Gupta - Ex-officio Member

The Pricipal Secretary, Dept. of Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science & Technology, Govt. of Karnataka, Bengaluru

Sri I S N Prasad - Ex-officio Member

The Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Department, Govt. of Karnataka, Bengaluru

Smt. G Padmavathi - Ex-officio Member

The Mayor, Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike, Bengaluru

Sri N Manjunath Prasad, IAS

The Commissioner, Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike, Bengaluru

Shri. Pramod G Galgali - Member Secretary

Director, J N Planetarium, Bengaluru